Dollbaby

Dollbaby by Laura Lane McNeal Book Summary

A Top Ten Finalist for Best Historical Novel, Goodreads Choice Awards, and a LibraryReads and Okra Pick

A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleans—a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets
 
When Ibby Bell’s father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her father’s urn for good measure. Fannie’s New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been—and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum—is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannie’s black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.
 
For Fannie’s own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibby’s arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbaby’s hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.
 
For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.
 
By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.

Dollbaby by Laura Lane McNeal Book Reviews

Payoneer 💰5 star

Wondering how you could earn $25 by just signing up? Earn $25 for free by joining Payoneer. Sign Up!

- Dollbaby5 star

Wonderful written book. Great characters, easy read.

- Doll baby3 star

It was ok

- Ten wonderful hours!5 star

I read this book in ten hours today. I laughed, I cried and I knew each of those characters from mile markers in my own life. I will never forget this wonderful, open and honest story of loving, brave and resilient women. Alyoop11

- Dollbaby4 star

weird characters, hard to like

- Dollbaby3 star

I look forward to her next book.

- Dollbaby5 star

Occasionally a book will touch your soul with the beauty of the prose and the richness of characters you would wish to meet. This is just such a book.

- Doll baby5 star

Fascinating time in America where the country was still segregated after WWI. This is life in New Orleans. It had so many twists and turns that I could not put the book down. The characters so realistic and warm you feel a part of the family too!

- Sweet story5 star

and I can't wait to see the movie!

- Doll baby5 star

Loved it! If you liked The Help, you’ll like this book. You’ll learn about the south and the time of civil rights. It’s a novel about racism in America during the 1960’s. It’s a family drama but so much more.

- Doll baby5 star

I loved loved loved this book! Wonderful story but the characters so alive you can feel them!

- Loved it!5 star

A great story!

- Dollbaby4 star

Highly recommended! New Orleans is one of the characters in this intriguing tale of family secrets, enduring friendships, the early civil rights movement, and what it means to be part of something larger than yourself. The characters come to life, and you care about their intertwined existences throughout their time together. A good read all around.

- Doll baby5 star

Such a great read the beginning is a little slow but keep reading and you will find you can not put it down as the story becomes more and more engrossing with many surprises throughout The book,

- Dollbaby5 star

I read on a daily basis, and this book was such a great read....being from Louisiana and born in Mamou, it was a fun and loving read

- Dollbaby5 star

McNeal has written a wonderful book that I couldn’t put down. The book is rich with fascinating characters who were riveting. I couldn’t read and turn the pages fast enough to find out what was going to happen next. The family secrets that unfolded throughout the book made reading it compelling to the very last page.

- Dollbaby5 star

I loved this book. Once I began reading it, I couldn’t put it down. Such a wonderful, warm-hearted story filled with characters you won’t soon forget.

- Dollbaby5 star

Beautifully written intelligent and eloquent story. This book had me from the first page, and I have just, sadly, read the last page. Truly wonderful!

- Dollbaby5 star

This was a wonderful book. I couldn't put it down. For those of us who grew up in the 60's and 70's, the way the author captured the times, brought back memories of my youth. A very moving ending and a great story.

- BabyDoll5 star

This read was fun for me. The era and culture of the day was captured and related with "real" detail and language. I enjoyed this immensely!

- Dollbaby4 star

Heartwarming...

- Great story5 star

Loved the characters and the setting. Great story with a great ending

- A great read!5 star

Dollbaby was and is a great read with amazing and lovable characters and situations that's are very relatable. Fannie happened to be my favorite character and she not only was the glue that kept the family together but she was the life of the party. Really interesting plot twists and good characterization. Loved it and will certainly recommend.

- Dollbaby4 star

I loved it. It had a good flow, good plot, good ending. Good read.

- Dollbaby5 star

I love New Orleans and I grew up when we wore gloves to shop on Canal Street. So I fully understood the history in Dollbaby. I loved reading it and had some good healthy laughs. I hope the author will write another novel about good old New Orleans and its rich history.

TransferWise 💸5 star

Enjoy high maximum transfers into more than 20 currencies while saving up to 90% over local banks! The cheap, fast way to send money abroad. Free transfer up to 500 USD!

AirBNB 🎁5 star

Get $65 off on your first stay at travels. Claim your 65 USD Airbnb free credit by clicking here!

Laura Lane McNeal - Dollbaby Comments

About Laura Lane McNeal Wiki

This is a list of number-one singles in Sweden at "Kvällstoppen" (Evening top list) 1962–1975, "Topplistan" (The top list) 1975–1997, "Hitlistan" (The hit list) 1998–2007, "Sverigetopplistan" (The Swedish top list) 2007 and forward. Swedish number-one singles and albums 1962–1975 (note that Kvällstoppen was a combined singles and album chart, with singles dominating a large portion of the 1960s. The first album to reach number one was Abbey Road by the Beatles in 1969, and the first Swedish-language album was Cornelis sjunger Taube by Cornelis Vreeswijk that same year) Swedish number-one singles 1975–2006 Swedish number-one singles and albums 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015...

If you want to link to Dollbaby book page, please use the codes provided below!
L
C
Do you want hide your ip address?Surf anonymously, prevent hackers from acquiring your IP address, send anonymous email, and encrypt your Internet connection. High speed, ultra secure, and easy to use. Instant setup.