Falling for a Stranger

Falling for a Stranger by Barbara Freethy Book Summary

From #1 NY Times Bestselling Author Barbara Freethy comes the third book in the popular Callaway Series, an emotional and suspenseful novel of love, family and dangerous secrets.  

Ria is as sexy and sultry as a warm tropical night and as beautifully dangerous as the island drinks she serves at the beachside bar on Isla de los Suenos -- The Island of Dreams. But Ria is not as carefree as she appears, and the pretense is wearing her down. One night she risks everything to escape from reality.

Drew Callaway is a former Navy pilot and rescue operative looking for his own escape from a life that has seen too much tragedy. Meeting Ria is like embracing the sun, and their single night together is life-changing. But the dream quickly fades when Ria is killed in a tragic accident at sea. 

Months later, thousands of miles away from where they first met, Drew sees a woman who looks just like Ria. She claims her name is Tory, and that they've never met before, but he can see that she's in trouble, and he can't walk away. He's going to save her whether she wants it or not.

Drew isn't afraid of a little danger, but can he risk losing his heart to a beautiful stranger?

Also Available in the Callaway Series:

ON A NIGHT LIKE THIS (#1)
SO THIS IS LOVE (#2)
FALLING FOR A STRANGER (#3)
BETWEEN NOW AND FOREVER (#4)
NOBODY BUT YOU (A Callaway Wedding Novella)
ALL A HEART NEEDS (#5)
THAT SUMMER NIGHT (#6) 
WHEN SHADOWS FALL (#7)
SOMEWHERE ONLY WE KNOW (#8)

Callaway Cousins (Spin-off Series)
IF I DIDN’T KNOW BETTER (#1)
TENDER IS THE NIGHT (#2) 
TAKE ME HOME (Callaway Novella)
CLOSER TO YOU (#3) 
ONCE YOU'RE MINE (#4) 
CAN'T LET GO (#5)
SECRETS WE KEEP (#6) Coming Soon!

Praise for Barbara Freethy Novels:

"I loved Aiden and Sara's story! Barbara manages to write so effortlessly, blending their stories together, so we learn where they have come from to get where they are now." Harlequin Junkie Blog for On A Night Like This (Callaways #1)

"I love the Callaways! Heartwarming romance, intriguing suspense and sexy alpha heroes. What more could you want?" --NYT Bestselling Author Bella Andre 

"I adore the Callaways, a family we'd all love to have. Each new book is a deft combination of emotion, suspense and family dynamics. A remarkable, compelling series!" --Barbara O'Neal, author of How to Bake a Perfect Life. 

"Once I start reading a Callaway novel, I can't put it down. Fast-paced action, a poignant love story and a tantalizing mystery in every book!" --USA Today Bestselling Author Christie Ridgway 

"I love the Callaways and FALLING FOR A STRANGER just makes me love their family even more." --All Night Books 

"I really love the Callaways and am looking forward to reading about the rest of the family and unraveling the grandparents’ secret which we’re learning a little more about in each new book. One of the greatest parts of FALLING FOR A STRANGER is making you believe in love at first sight. If you’re looking for a great feel good read with a bit of action and mystery, this book is for you!" --The Book Momster 

PRAISE FOR BARBARA FREETHY NOVELS: 

"A fabulous, page-turning combination of romance and intrigue. Fans of Nora Roberts and Elizabeth Lowell will love this book." — NYT Bestselling Author Kristin Hannah on Golden Lies

"Barbara Freethy writes with bright assurance, exploring the bonds of sisterhood and the excitement of blue water sailing. SUMMER SECRETS is a lovely novel." — NYT Bestselling Author Luanne Rice

"In the tradition of LaVyrle Spencer, gifted author Barbara Freethy creates an irresistible tale of family secrets, riveting adventure and heart- touching romance." — NYT Bestselling Author Susan Wiggs on Summer Secrets

"A page-turner that engages your mind while it tugs at your heartstrings...Don’t Say A Word has made me a Barbara Freethy fan for life!" — NYT Bestselling Author Diane Chamberlain on Don’t Say a Word

"This book has it all: heart, community, and characters who will remain with you long after the book has ended. A wonderful story." — NYT Bestselling Author Debbie Macomber on Suddenly One Summer

Falling for a Stranger by Barbara Freethy Book Reviews

Payoneer 💰5 star

Wondering how you could earn $25 by just signing up? Earn $25 for free by joining Payoneer. Sign Up!

- Ik1 star

You j

- Falling for a Stranger4 star

Great read! Strong women and dedicated, committed men.

- Falling for a Stranger5 star

Excellent story!!!!!

- Falling for a stranger5 star

I loved this story! It kept me entertained through the last page.

- Very entertaining story4 star

Wonderful characters. Well written. Story contained all the elements of life; drama, humor, tragedy, passion, romance with a promise of true happiness. True page turner leaving you with questions that can only be answered by continuing to read the entire series.

- Enjoyable book5 star

This is a different type of love story. No second chance but one of love at first sight. The drama and suspense kept your interest throughout the book. True modern day hero for her Prince Charming.

- Falling for a stranger4 star

Fun easy read. Some grammar fixes needed— sisters-in-law not sister-in-laws. Minor but interrupted flow of the story.

- Falling for a stranger5 star

Loved the book. Loved the ending too! Thank you!

- Falling for a Stranger5 star

Best read I have had in a very long time. Barbara Freethy keeps the story moving and gives nothing away. One of the best💕💕💕💕

- Love the Callaways5 star

As a lover of the Callaway sereis of books by Barbara Frothy, i can highly recommend “Falling For a Stranger.” Her books always have story lines that are new and interesting. This story involves a one time meeting between Ria and Drew on a tropical beach. The next morning Ria disappears when a boat explodes in the bay. Drew searched all over for Ria but she was gone. Later, in CA he sees someone that looks like Ria. Is it Ria or a look-alike? Didn’t she die in the explosion? Another must read by author Freethy.

- leaning more to the romantic suspense side3 star

In a story that reconnects Drew and Ria, we are leaning more to the romantic suspense side of things, and while it’s not my favorite sort of story to read, the writing kept me intrigued enough to continue. We’ve met Drew before: one of the adult Callaways, he’s a bit high-strung and more angst-ridden than the others from his family we have met. Now a helicopter pilot for the coast guard, his vacation left him with one everlasting memory, that of Ria, the woman with whom he shared a passion filled night. Some months later, Drew is convinced he sees Ria in San Francisco, and joyfully reconnects. But Ria tells him her name is Tory, and that she doesn’t know him. Cue danger and huge secret. Told again in dual points of view, I wasn’t able to connect to the tension, and it felt a bit flat for me. Drew also seemed to soften in this story, missing his edge and the angst that felt so very ‘him’. While their connection was palpable, the other parts of the story seemed to just miss for me, being a decent, but not great, retelling of events. It was nice to check back in with Aiden and Sara, and see a bit more of the relationship between Nicole and Ryan and their troubles. While this was amusing and action packed, and I am enjoying the characters and getting to know the family, I just wasn’t in love with this particular story. I received an eBook copy from the author via Novel Publicity for purpose of honest review for a tour event. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

- No way.....2 star

This is the third book in the series. I've read all three, had I started with this one I never would have moved on in this series. It's slow, it's so far out there in la la land that it cheapens the characters. I'm moving on to book four and crossing my fingers.

- Terrific5 star

Just like the other books... I can't stop reading them.

- Falling for a Stranger5 star

This has been a fun series.

- The Callaways5 star

Loved the story of Ria and Drew. This book has it all, romance, mystery and suspense. Starts on an island and ends up back home with the Callaways. It was great to revisit with Callaways . Looking forward to reading many more books in this series.

- Great Author5 star

I Have yet to read this book!!!! Barbara's books are always GREAT!!!! I look forward to reading this series!!! Keep it up Barbara!!! Your fans love u!!!!

TransferWise 💸5 star

Enjoy high maximum transfers into more than 20 currencies while saving up to 90% over local banks! The cheap, fast way to send money abroad. Free transfer up to 500 USD!

AlwynJ57 - Great mystery4 star

I enjoyed this book up to the last couple of chapters. The mystery and suspense throughout were gripping, making me want to find out why Ria was in hiding but then the ending seemed rushed. All over suddenly without any explanation. This could have been a bestseller if the ending had been explained better rather than “everybody lived happily ever after.” Too mushy. Sorry. Not my cup of tea.

Bellringer 2 - Falling for a stranger1 star

I have reread this book three times and I still enjoy it every time. I am looking forward to the next part of the family. Thanks Brian.X

AirBNB 🎁5 star

Get $65 off on your first stay at travels. Claim your 65 USD Airbnb free credit by clicking here!

Barbara Freethy - Falling for a Stranger Comments

About Barbara Freethy Wiki

Barbara Freethy (born in California) is a #1 New York Times bestselling American author of women's fiction, contemporary romance and romantic suspense. She is a two-time winner of Romance Writers of America's RITA Award for Best Contemporary Single Title Romance for Daniel's Gift in 1997, and for Best Contemporary Single Title Romance for The Way Back Home in 2013. She has sold over 5 million books, with 18 books making the New York Times bestseller list. In 2014, she was named the Amazon KDP Bestselling Author of All Time. Biography Freethy is a native of California and earned a degree in Communications from UC Santa Barbara. She worked for a while in public relations before launching her...

If you want to link to Falling for a Stranger book page, please use the codes provided below!
L
C
Do you want hide your ip address?Surf anonymously, prevent hackers from acquiring your IP address, send anonymous email, and encrypt your Internet connection. High speed, ultra secure, and easy to use. Instant setup.