The Last Flight

The Last Flight by Julie Clark Book Summary

The New York Times and USA Today bestseller!

"The Last Flight is thoroughly absorbing—not only because of its tantalizing plot and deft pacing, but also because of its unexpected poignancy and its satisfying, if bittersweet, resolution. The characters get under your skin."—The New York Times Book Review

Two women. Two flights. One last chance to disappear.

Claire Cook has a perfect life. Married to the scion of a political dynasty, with a Manhattan townhouse and a staff of ten, her surroundings are elegant, her days flawlessly choreographed, and her future auspicious. But behind closed doors, nothing is quite as it seems. That perfect husband has a temper that burns as bright as his promising political career, and he's not above using his staff to track Claire's every move, making sure she's living up to his impossible standards. But what he doesn't know is that Claire has worked for months on a plan to vanish.

A chance meeting in an airport bar brings her together with a woman whose circumstances seem equally dire. Together they make a last-minute decision to switch tickets—Claire taking Eva's flight to Oakland, and Eva traveling to Puerto Rico as Claire. They believe the swap will give each of them the head start they need to begin again somewhere far away. But when the flight to Puerto Rico goes down, Claire realizes it's no longer a head start but a new life. Cut off, out of options, with the news of her death about to explode in the media, Claire will assume Eva's identity, and along with it, the secrets Eva fought so hard to keep hidden.

For fans of Lisa Jewell and Liv Constantine, The Last Flight is the story of two women—both alone, both scared—and one agonizing decision that will change the trajectory of both of their lives.

The Last Flight by Julie Clark Book Reviews

Payoneer 💰5 star

Wondering how you could earn $25 by just signing up? Earn $25 for free by joining Payoneer. Sign Up!

- Amazing.5 star

Absolutely loved it. Kept me turning the page even when I was half asleep, I just couldn’t stop reading.

- Good story3 star

A good story, but a bit preachy at the end which took too stars off of it.

- Could not put down5 star

Great read.

- Riveting5 star

This book was fantastic. Great read. I cried a few times while reading which says the author knows how to tell a story.

- Difficult to finish reading2 star

The premise of the book sounded interesting and I really thought I would like it. But although it held my attention at the start, I grew bored with the plot and characters and had a hard time finishing the book. The plot grew too far fetched to be believable as were the characters. Not my favorite and I don’t recommend it.

- Just ok3 star

I didn’t love this book

- Engaging5 star

I read this book in two days. It got my attention right from the beginning. I will read more from this author.

- A page turner!!!5 star

Great book with suspense and characters for whom you love and of course those you don’t

- Entertaining4 star

Not the usual type of book that I read. However, I found it worthwhile and it kept my interest until the very end. Definitely a book that women will enjoy more than men.

- Page Turner!5 star

I finished this book in 3 days flat, eager to read how the lives of the two women intertwine and play out. Fantastic read that’s gripping!

- Good read4 star

Good read. A surprising page turner that I thoroughly enjoyed. Would recommend.

- Excellent!5 star

A great page turner from the very start!

- Don’t bother1 star

I broke my own rule about bailing on a book that doesn’t cut it and read this to an unsatisfying ending. A waste of time.

- Wild Ride5 star

This book had so many twists and turns and I loved every page of it!

- A fast paced read ...5 star

I loved this book , kept me riveted from start to finish ... one of my best reads of the year ....

- The Last Flight5 star

It is so easy to say this is a book I couldn’t put down. But in this case it is true. The stories of two complex and dynamic women, trying to escape personal disaster in their lives, was a constant source of wonder to me. The writing was taut, with turns of fortune on every page, and rang with authenticity. The truth of womens’ lives and the difficulty we have in having that truth be as valid as that of a man’s was vivid and uncompromising. The book had a profound impact on me and I hope many, many readers find it as satisfying as I did.

- The Last Flight5 star

Could not put this book down! Had to keep reading to find out what was happening next to each character.

- Wow!5 star

Hard to put down!

- Gripping every page turn5 star

I loved this book - it was a true escape and had two strong female protagonists that you wanted the best for all along their troubling journeys.

- It is okay2 star

The plot moved very slow and the ending was okay. Very disappointed.

- Loved it, hated it to end!!!5 star

This kept me turning pages and loving all of them! Wish I had another one this great to read currently!

- Enjoyable and suspenseful5 star

What a great book that’s hard to put down! I like that it had the thrills, while also going deeper. It was quite thought-provoking at times. And I enjoyed getting to know the two main characters. Definitely one of my favorite books I’ve read this year.

- The Last Flight5 star

Outstanding read. Read the book straight through. Very intense with an excellent story. Interesting insights into people’s hidden personalities.

- The last flight5 star

Great book!

- Amazing!!5 star

This book will keep you guessing all the way to the end! When 2 women switch tickets to escape the lives they’re running from one of them ends up being followed for the others life she was desperate to escape while she’s being hunted by her abusive husband.

- The last flight5 star

Great book, fast read, couldn’t put it down. Twists and turns! Loved it!

- Unexpectedly Pleasant5 star

The storyline had twists and turns I would’ve never expected! This was a great read.

- It was ok3 star

I liked the concept of getting away from life and just disappearing and starting out again. But in this story, the them of spousal abuse was not what I expected. The story was about control. The main characters never really got away. They just hid for awhile, had no interesting experiences while hiding, and then one of them came back. I hated how there were two stories of two different women and how it jumped around to each of their individual stories. I hate when stories start in the present and then spend most of their time taking us back six months in the past. And go on and on, repeating themselves. We get it. Men can be mean. Just not deep enough for me. And main characters were weak and uninspiring. Frustratingly simple plot. But the author clearly put a lot of effort into this book. So I can’t hate it.

- Worth Reading5 star

I enjoyed reading this book. Surprise ending. I am adding this author to my list of authors I follow.

- The Last Flight1 star

Utterly ridiculous. Impossible to imagine such preposterously STUPID women with their missteps dragging on and on until an aggravatingly vanilla and inconsistent ending.

- C5 star

GrŚffeee e e EdDeSEd year fee edgedfff is

- The Last Flight3 star

3/5 stars Cleverly written. Unrealistic story plot. Hal R

- The Last Flight5 star

Brilliant !

- Finally a good Read!5 star

Fantastic read. Zipped through the pages. I was tite & wanted to sleep but just one more chapter, another & another! It's that good & then......Nooooo. Read to find out!

- Couldn’t put it down5 star

It’s so rare for me to pick up a book over breakfast and finish it before the sun even sets that day! But this was one of those books. Such an easy read with great character development, no mid-book lulls, and just enough surprises to keep you hooked. Read this!

TransferWise 💸5 star

Enjoy high maximum transfers into more than 20 currencies while saving up to 90% over local banks! The cheap, fast way to send money abroad. Free transfer up to 500 USD!

AirBNB 🎁5 star

Get $32 off on your first stay at travels. Claim your $32 Airbnb free credit by clicking here!

VisitGroatbury5 star

@Overtourism: Mask Fights and a ‘Mob Mentality’: What Flight Attendants Faced Over the Last Year

LmjeIIy5 star

@bashiredd The last line gave me fight or flight stop it 😢

IshanaSanan15 star

@opodo I have been trying to get you to rebook my flight for the last 2 months. This is absolutely ridiculous. Ever…

RajShar198704225 star

@Paytmcare @IndiGo6E @PaytmBank @HardeepSPuri My refund pending science may 20 last 7 month.PNR no HL2H3Q Indigo fl…

Overtourism5 star

Mask Fights and a ‘Mob Mentality’: What Flight Attendants Faced Over the Last Year

Julie Clark - The Last Flight Comments

About Julie Clark Wiki

Julie E. Clark (born June 27, 1948) is a retired American aerobatic air show aviator and commercial airline pilot. She started her commercial flying career with Golden West Airlines as a first officer and ended it in 2003 as a Northwest Airlines Airbus A320 Captain. She was one of the first female pilots to work for a major airline, and has been voted as "Performer of the Year" several times for her air show performances.
If you want to link to The Last Flight book page, please use the codes provided below!
L
C
Do you want hide your ip address?Surf anonymously, prevent hackers from acquiring your IP address, send anonymous email, and encrypt your Internet connection. High speed, ultra secure, and easy to use. Instant setup.