The Things We Cannot Say

The Things We Cannot Say by Kelly Rimmer Book Summary

Now a New York Times bestseller!

From the author of Truths I Never Told You, Before I Let You Go, and the The Warsaw Orphan, Kelly Rimmer’s powerful WWII novel follows a woman’s urgent search for answers to a family mystery that uncovers truths about herself that she never expected.

“Kelly Rimmer has outdone herself. I thought that Before I Let You Go was one of the best novels I had ever read…If you only have time to read one book this year The Things We Cannot Say should be that book. Keep tissues handy.”—Fresh Fiction

“Fans of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls will adore The Things We Cannot Say.” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author

In 1942, Europe remains in the relentless grip of war. Just beyond the tents of the refugee camp she calls home, a young woman speaks her wedding vows. It’s a decision that will alter her destiny…and it’s a lie that will remain buried until the next century.

Since she was nine years old, Alina Dziak knew she would marry her best friend, Tomasz. Now fifteen and engaged, Alina is unconcerned by reports of Nazi soldiers at the Polish border, believing her neighbors that they pose no real threat, and dreams instead of the day Tomasz returns from college in Warsaw so they can be married. But little by little, injustice by brutal injustice, the Nazi occupation takes hold, and Alina’s tiny rural village, its families, are divided by fear and hate.

Then, as the fabric of their lives is slowly picked apart, Tomasz disappears. Where Alina used to measure time between visits from her beloved, now she measures the spaces between hope and despair, waiting for word from Tomasz and avoiding the attentions of the soldiers who patrol her parents’ farm. But for now, even deafening silence is preferable to grief.

Slipping between Nazi-occupied Poland and the frenetic pace of modern life, Kelly Rimmer creates an emotional and finely wrought narrative. The Things We Cannot Say is an unshakable reminder of the devastation when truth is silenced…and how it can take a lifetime to find our voice before we learn to trust it.

Don’t miss Kelly Rimmer’s latest gripping novel, The German Wife.
 
For more by Kelly Rimmer, look for
Before I Let You Go
Truths I Never Told You
The Warsaw Orphan
 

The Things We Cannot Say by Kelly Rimmer Book Reviews

Payoneer 💰 5 star

Wondering how you could earn $25 by just signing up? Earn $25 for free by joining Payoneer. Sign Up!

I could not put this book down! It was such a beautiful story with layers of emotion and understanding generation after generation pre and post WWII. Loved the end of the story. Would read it again.

I have not cried this hard reading a book in a long while. This story was enthralling and kept me guessing. The ending was exactly right.

I couldn’t put it down.

I picked this book by accident and I’m glad I did. I was sucked in from the beginning and couldn’t put it down. This book reached my very soul. Beautiful story.

Wonderfully written. A captivating story that restores a little bit faith in humanity, whilst reminding us of the worst of humanity. And I'm always a fan of a female protagonist. A must read.

Beautifully written.

Very beautiful and touching. Made me sob but it was 100% worth it.

To gain personal insight from a book that I thought would simply be a story. It was slow for me at first, as it is not my typical read. However; very shortly I found myself immersed in the history of Alina and empowered by Alice laying down her titles.

Found the writing a bit simple.

A truly heartwarming book couldn’t put it down

My mother and grandparents lived in Europe during WW2 and this story brought to life some of the terrible tragedies and heroic efforts to salvage human dignity. The author wrote a wonderful story about family tragedy, honor, and personal growth dealing with challenges.

Amazing,heart-wrenching, and exquisitely beautiful.

This was a wonderful and emotional book to read. It brought home the reality of things people went through and suffered through in Poland leading up to and during WWll. Very well written, I couldn’t put it down! I’ve found a new favorite author, and am starting another book!

This is a wonderful book. I could not put it down. Highly recommend it.

A beautiful heart wrenching love story of family, past and present. A real page turner with all the feels!!

This is a wonderful historical fiction novel with a twist of mystery!

I liked this one a lot. It was a good mystery and just a wonderful story

A wonderful book! Must read! So interesting and enjoyed the journey! Thanks for this perspective in history! I always have wanted to learn more about my history! As my great grandmother was killed during world war 2. I look forward to soon doing it!

Very touching toward the end. The characters are well described. It’s not one of those stories you can’t wait to see how it ends, you know before the ending.

This was the sweetest, saddest, best book I have read in a long time! I couldn’t put it down!

Outstanding!! This is one of those books that linger with you after you have turned the last page. Highly recommend.

This will go down as one of my favorites of all time. Great book!

I always enjoy historical fiction - this is a well written and incredible story of a strength and love in the face of devastating evil. It makes you put in perspective your own struggles. I always find it beyond comprehension to imagine living through and surviving the horrors of WW II Europe. This book makes you think and reflect on life. It’s not always easy to be reminded of the devastation and what innocent people had to indure - it’s always unimaginable - but important to read. I highly recommend this book.

This story was so touching! It is one of those books that stick with you and you think about long after you’ve put it down. It’s a great reminder of so many little things in life - the things we take for granted and it’s an eye opening reminder of what our ancestors have done for us and how grateful we should be to them. And the love story - astounding!!!!!! Nicely done, Kelly Rimmer!

I just can’t get this book out of my head. As a parent of a child with autism, I watch Netflix specials, television dramas, etc., and have never quite felt like they got my family situation. I would love to be a part of producing this as a movie. Never once have I connected to a story as I did with this one. Kelly Remmer did her research and managed to weave a story that is so beautiful and moving, I can’t stop recommending it to family and friends. Especially those who have never quite understood our situation. Gorgeous story. Highly recommend. Might even be in my top 5 books of all time.

Such a good read. I really enjoyed the story telling. Such a really good history lesson about the horrible Hitler and nazi gang. Well written.

I found this book incredibly moving in the way it wove together an earlier painful but buried history with a modern current of family suffering. I was in tears at the end and feel blessed to have run across this book. Thank you, Kelly!

I loved this book. It is well written and it was hard to put down. It’s 2 heartwarming love stories that keep you on the edge of your seat until the very end. One story from modern day and the realities of life, and one story from the 1940’s that intertwine with each other. Aside from the love, the stories of WWII are always so sad but so important to remember what people went through during that horrific time and how resilient people can be.

This is the first time I ever write a book review. Can’t recommended this one enough. Just make sure you,ve got some Kleenex close by. What a book-I couldn’t put it down.

Absolutely loved this book. It’s been a long time since I spent most of my Friday night reading, until I found this book!

Lots of emotion in this book. Finally characters who feel real.

A great story that takes place during World War II, a time that is so hard for any of us to imagine. This book does a nice job of unexpectedly reiterating the sacrifice and work that couples should put into a marriage and family too. Something I wasn’t expecting but delightfully surprised.

This is the first book I’ve ever reviewed after reading all my life. It is a beautiful story of heart wrenching pain - in a time in space so sad you can hardly bear to experience it through the author’s words. Yet the absolute power of faith based love brings you hope and dries your tears.

This book is just incredible! I haven’t wanted to put it down since the second I picked it up. Kelly Rimmer had me laughing and crying and sitting on the edge of my seat. I can’t say enough good things about this book!

Two worlds brought together.

It was so interesting I had a hard time putting it down . I don’t think I ever cried so much , it had all the things I,m interested in,

Well written, I literally couldn’t put it down!

I amazed myself with how quickly I finished this book. It was captivating. It was an easy but powerful read. I found myself reflecting on the suffering of so many people during the war, and a newfound gratitude for my life and family.

One of the best books I’ve ever read.

TransferWise 💸 5 star

Enjoy high maximum transfers into more than 120 currencies while saving up to 90% over local banks! The cheap, fast way to send money abroad. Free transfer up to 500 USD!

I can’t explain how I feel about this book in short but it left me feeling emotions I didn’t know where there. This is the best book I’ve read.

Great book to read

I had to stop reading as I simply could not stand the whiny, entitled Alice character. The other characters all seemed very 2 dimensional and stereotypical.

Interesting story line but young naive ramblings throughout. Ending had a twist but predictable.

It has been a long time since a book has captured my mind to such an extent as this one. It brought me to tears several times. Couldn’t put it down... Speaking as a grandmother of a child on the autism spectrum- the author’s depiction of Eddie was excellent. The horrors of the Nazi occupation of Poland were unspeakable as the title of the book implies. Read it!

I loved and enjoyed this book a lot It was gentle and exciting at the same time. Very interesting ti have it narrated from two different people living in twin different times.

Mind Lab Pro 🎯 5 star

Mind Lab Pro boosts work performance and productivity with nootropics for focus, multitasking under stress, creative problem-solving and more. Buy Now!

Kelly Rimmer - The Things We Cannot Say Comments

About Kelly Rimmer Wiki

This is a list of fictional characters that have been explicitly described within the work in which they appear, or otherwise by the author, as being on the autism spectrum. It is not intended to include speculation. Autistic people involved in the work may be mentioned in footnotes. Comics Film Literature Television Theater Video games See also Autism spectrum disorders in the media List of films about autism Autism and LGBT identities List of fictional characters with disabilitiesNotes References .

If you want to link to The Things We Cannot Say book page, please use the codes provided below!
L
C
Do you want hide your ip address?Surf anonymously, prevent hackers from acquiring your IP address, send anonymous email, and encrypt your Internet connection. High speed, ultra secure, and easy to use. Instant setup.